

10th NATIONAL MOOT COURTCOMPETITION, 2022

1st April - 3rd April 2022

REPORT

Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law has always envisioned serving the society through reforms in legal services by way of preparing professionally competent lawyers. The 10th edition of RGNUL National Moot Court Competition was organized in continuance to fulfil this vision and keep the essence of learning in RGNUL alive.

Mooting, is always an integral part of a law student's life, and thus, finds a very regular mention at our university. To further the mooting culture of our university and to provide the participants with a platform to showcase their advocacy, the University organized the 10th RGNUL National Moot Court Competition 2022 in association with Late Lala Dip Chand Memorial Trust. The competition this year was conducted through the online platform of Cisco Webex and witnessed participation from more than 50 teams across the nation. The Competition was spread over three days, i.e., from 1st April to 3rd April 2022. It can be concluded with no shade of doubt that it was only the enthusiasm, hard work, and perseverance of the young participants which motivated us to conduct the online moot in the month of April.

The 10th edition of the competition has been conducted under the able guidance of our Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, Prof (Dr.) G. S. Bajpai, our Hon'ble Registrar Prof. (Dr.) Naresh Kumar Vats, and the Faculty Coordinator of the Moot Court Committee, Dr. Geetika Walia. The competition sought to test not only the oratory and research skills of the participating teams but also their collective strengths. We also extend our heartiest gratitude to Prof. Dr. Suman Dash Bhattamishra, Asst. Professor of Law, at NLUO for drafting the moot proposition, which was based on criminal law.

The riveting and the most important final round were presided over by a two-Judge Bench consisting of:

- 1. Hon'ble Mr. Justice SS Saron, Former Judge Punjab and Haryana High Court
- 2. Mr. Sumeet Goel, Senior Advocate Punjab and Haryana High Court

The awards for the competition were as follows -

- 1. The best speaker award was bagged by, Aditya Rai, Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur.
- 2. Tejashwini Mallick was adjudged the best researcher.
- 3. The best memorial award was won by Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad.
- 4. The winners of the competition were, Uniersity School of Law and Legal Studies, GGSIPU. The runners-up for the competition were UILS, Panjab University, Chandigarh.